Drug Charge Lawyer
Drug charges which cover both possession and the sale of drugs, carry some of the most severe penalties and fines of any crime in Georgia.
Anything that can be used to make, ingest or conceal drugs is considered drug paraphernalia.
Possession of drug paraphernalia is an additional misdemeanor charge commonly combined with felony drug possession charges.
Possession of Marijuana or THC Vape Cartridge
Possession of a THC cartridge can be a felony charge in the State of Georgia depending on what type of THC is in the cartridge. The most common forms of THC include delta 8, delta 9 and delta 10. Delta 8 and 10 are not considered controlled substances in the State of Georgia however, the manufacturing process for THC vape cartridges is not regulated and mislabeled cartridges are sold every day. It is possible that a delta 8 or delta 10 cartridge has delta 9 content inside.
Possession of marijuana and THC cases usually begin with a search of your vehicle, house or person. Our criminal defense team, led by Mr. Logan Butler, will investigate the circumstances of that search including whether the police officer in your case did something wrong, so we can have that evidence excluded.
Classification of Drugs in the State of Georgia
|Cocaine & Crack Cocaine
|Tylenol with Codeine
Schedule I drugs are considered the most dangerous with the highest potential for abuse and have no medicinal value.
Drug Charge Penalties in Georgia
|Schedule I Controlled Substance, Schedule II Narcotic or Schedule II Non-Narcotic
|1 to 15 years (for first conviction)
|Schedule III, IV and V Controlled Substances
|1 to 5 years (for first conviction)
|1 to 10 years (unless possession is less than 1 ounce)
|Schedule I or II Controlled Substance
|5 to 30 years (for first conviction)
|Schedule III, IV or V Controlled Substances
|1 to 10 years (for first conviction)